Thursday, February 17, 2011

Costa Rica Day 1

So up at the crack of dawn this morning and yes I made my flight.  Two alarms were set (both were set correctly this time) so I was up in plenty of time.  I've actually never been to the airport before the US customs was open so spent most of my time at the airport just waiting for them to start processing people.

My flight to Costa Rica was through Miami and everything went smoothly.  The the only negative was that on my flight from Miami to San Jose I was literally sitting in the last row of the plane.  Last row meaning my seat didn't recline...ah boo!  Lucky for me I can sleep pretty much anywhere and in any position so I was still able to get a bit of shut eye on the flight.

Landing in Costa Rica you could feel the heat of the day even before getting off the plane.  It's probably one of my favourite feelings when traveling to a hot destination.  The feel of the humidity after being stuck in the dry cold winter...priceless!  After clearing customs and getting my bag from the carrousel, I was told that there would be someone waiting for me with a sign (with my name on it) to take me to my hotel.  I get out there and I didn't see anyone with a sign for me.  I waited and kept getting accosted by people asking if I needed a taxi.  I kept telling them that I was waiting for my pre-arranged transfer.  After about 15 mins another taxi driver comes up to me and asked if he could help and if he could call my contact for the transfer.  I take him up on his offer and he calls my contact.  The taxi driver gets off the phone and said that the transfer is for tomorrow...I said no, it's for today and it states it on my sheet, but he said my transfer is not coming today.  This nice taxi driver then works out with my transfer that he will take me to my hotel and will get reimbursed from my original transfer so I'm not out of pocket.  How nice was that!  I would have gotten reimbursed for my taxi anyway from the tour company but it was nice that this taxi driver was willing to help me out.  This totally turned my negative to a positive...loving this country already!

I get settled in my hotel room...neat little hotel.  Nothing fancy by no means but clean, simple and very nice staff.  I'm so tempted to just crash on my bed but I force myself to put my things away and set out on foot to explore the city.  By this time it's around 3 pm.  I've been up since 3a m so I'm surprised that I was able to peel myself from my room.

I get a general idea of where my hotel is to where the centre of town is and I'm off.  Street signs...well I haven't found one yet (I'm going to look really close for them tomorrow) so it makes it difficult finding things.  Also, there doesn't really seem to be addresses as well.  The address is pretty much the closest intersection.  I got a little turned around trying to find my way back to the hotel but luckily enough I have a pretty good sense of direction and I found my way back safe and sound.

After walking around just getting a feel of the town, I came to the conclusion that I should plan something for tomorrow since I have a full free day before the starting of my tour the following day.  I did a quick search online and had a look at the tour brochures at my hotel and decided on the Calypso Tortuga Island Cruise.  It will give me a little sea and sand that I've been missing in my life!

After booking my tour I asked the front desk about restaurants and she recommended the Argentinean restaurant right across the street.  To me...the "across the street" sold me.  I was too tired to even think of walking to something a little further.  The restaurant is called La Esquina de Buenos Aires and it's AWESOME!  You have to make reservations for this restaurant or you get stuck eating your food at the bar (that's if there is room).  I asked for reservations for this evening and he kinda laughed and said "Nope...not tonight.  Unless you want to eat at 9:30 or 10 pm."  He did say that I could eat at the bar so I said "sounds good!"  I wasn't the only one eating at the bar and I met a very nice british couple who were having their last meal before having to pack up and head home early tomorrow morning.  I actually really liked eating at the bar because, 1. It allowed me to socialize with people and 2. It was just a good atmosphere there.

I had one of my all time favourite meals there!  It was gnocchi with tomatoes and capers and it was to die for!!!!   I've always said that my favourite gnocchi was from Vittorio's in Toronto but this one put it to shame!  As soon as I took a bite I was in heaven!  The couple beside me also said that their food was fantastic so 3 out of 3 is pretty good.  Considering you need a reso and the place is packed it must be a pretty good restaurant.  A free drink from the owner also gets the restaurant brownie points!  I don't know what it is about traveling alone but when eating alone, you tend to get something free...try it!  Maybe people feel sorry for me for being on my own...who knows but free stuff is always nice!

Ok...it's bed time now.  I have another early start tomorrow and if I don't sleep now I'll never wake up in time.

KK

If my passport could talk...
                                          "Finally another stamp!  Good start to a great vacation!"

2 comments:

  1. Your blog looks great! Can't wait to hear more!
    Penny

    ReplyDelete
  2. mmm now I am hungry. Better Gnocchi then Vittorios! That must be good!

    Don't give up on the last row on the plane. I have had the last row before and it was the best seat ever! My seat reclined though, and because there was no one behind me I was practically lying down. Also it was just myself and one other person sitting next to me which was nice too.

    Look forward to hearing about the rest of your trip!

    ReplyDelete